TOWN OF ELROSE
100th Birthday Celebration
July 12-14, 2013
Back row:(left to right) Patti Mills-Smith, Jodi Thompson, Joe McKillop, Lisa Calwell, Shirley Smith, Doug Bone
Middle row: Bev Rowley, Ashley Willmek, Debra Campbell, Norm Elmslie
Front row: Margie Loitz, Chris Hopkins (Secretary/Treasurer), June Harsch (Chairperson), Norma Elmslie, Kerri Calwell, Florence Rowley
Missing: Kari Hintze, Brenda Fredrickson, Darlene Ellis, Gerry Hammond, Betty Mae Leavins, Alma Copeland, Dee Beatty
Write-up of the weekend will be coming soon.
Celebrating 100 Years!! July 12-14, 2013
Elrose was originally called La Berge after Albert La Berge, an early resident. In 1913, the railroad reached the area and there was a meeting to discuss a permanent name for the town. Elrose was chosen. Some say it was named after Elrosa, USA, and others say it was Dr. Burell who wanted rose in the name because of all the wild roses growing in the area.
December 13, 1909 is when the R.M. of Monet No. 257 incorporated. We celebrated our 100th Anniversary on December 14, 2009 with a beef on a bun luncheon at the Uniplex. Several old photos and records were available for viewing. Proceeds were donated to the Elrose-Monet District Recreation Board and the Monet-Elrose Fire District.
Majestic hills rising from rich, flat farmland are spectacular landscapes common throughout the Rural Municipality of Monet No. 257. The towering Coteau Hills are visible for miles and dominate the southern horizon, sprawling across the municipality's boundaries. To the west, the Greenan Hills are of lesser height with farms tucked into picturesque nooks. Straddling the R.M. boundaries to the northwest, the Bad Hills stretch into the distance. From several flat glacial basins of heavy clay deposits located mainly in the centre and northeast of the municipality, the surrounding hills provide an inspiring backdrop to rural life.